General discussion of OpenCATS

Moderators: RussH, cptr13

Forum rules: Just remember to play nicely once you walk through the door. You can disagree with us, or any other commenters in this forum, but keep comments directed to the topic at hand.
By angelom
Hello--

I'm fairly new to CATS...

I do have a functioning (?) system, which looks like it is a "pro" version (./modules/asp exists)...

I noticed that the app seems to be phoning home to http://www.catsone.com. Why is this? And, since we're now a forked, open source version, is there any violation in disabling any phone-home code?

Secondly, the resume parse seems to not work at all... I've seen reference to resfly.com being no longer available.. If that's the case, why did I install antiword, html2text, pdftotext, unpdf, etc. for? Are those used at all?

The Firefox Toolbar downloads, but again - phones home and bails out. Anyone have any workaround or recompile available for that?

I did get the Flash SWF Uploader to load, but it seems that an upload.php file is missing... anyone know where the source files for this can be found? (I pointed my server to direct requests for http://www.catsone.com to itself, and examined the 404 errors to see what it was phoning home to either GET or POST...)

Am I missing something, or was this conversion from open to closed source a bit of a sour pill??? The checks for versions, phoning home, etc. seems quite draconian.
By RussH
angelom wrote:Hello--

I'm fairly new to CATS...

I do have a functioning (?) system, which looks like it is a "pro" version (./modules/asp exists)...
Hiya!
I'm guessing you've downloaded opencats-0.9.1a which incorporates a few fixes to amend the 0.9.1 version of cats to be a more useable version (pre-populates the license request field etc
angelom wrote: I noticed that the app seems to be phoning home to http://www.catsone.com. Why is this? And, since we're now a forked, open source version, is there any violation in disabling any phone-home code?