General discussion of OpenCATS

Moderators: RussH, cptr13

Forum rules: Just remember to play nicely once you walk through the door. You can disagree with us, or any other commenters in this forum, but keep comments directed to the topic at hand.
By kevinharper
Has anyone had any problems with hackers? What are best practices for the security-conscious, besides strong passwords?
By cptr13
Kevin.

I know nothing about security. Opencats is a l/wamp application, so I'm sure there's tons of information out there on general security.

Also, RussH is a sysadmin. You might private message him to get his thoughts.

But, everything that is web facing has vulnerabilities.
By tmarsh3
Hi. Total Opencats noob here. However, I do have background in IT security and share the same concerns.

I'm implementing Opencats on my shared hosting provider, and have gone through extensive security scans and tests in order to make sure I'm not going to cough up user information or personally identifiable information due to a breach. In general, the app has passed all checks and scans, with only one caveat identified by the tinfoil security scanner. Note, I did make modifications to my Apache config, to change a number of security headers. Opencats survived all of those changes and is still working for me.

The one significant security flaw I may have uncovered is Cross-Site Request Forgery (CSRF) exposure. This is on all of the various input forms, especially the login forms. I am still reviewing the mountain of PHP and JavaScript code behind the pages so am not sure if this is a false positive. Details of CSRF exploits and recommended fixes are here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cross-sit ... st_forgery.