Please describe the issue you're having
If you accept the answer, please mark the topic as [SOLVED] by clicking the tick.

Moderators: RussH, cptr13

Forum rules: Just please remember to play nicely once you walk through the door. You can disagree with us, or any other commenters in this forum, but respect our space and keep your comments directed to the topic at hand.
Hello experts,

I really would love to get the open source version of CATS running but cannot successfully install it on 1and1 Linux business package. Can anyone offer guidance, steps, solutions or install it for me?

I am not a novice at installs but can't get it up and running. The various errors are too many to name. I need instructions that are more appropriate for my system, including permissions, parameters, whether I need to do an SQL dump prior to install, etc.

Thank you, Elena
Hi Elena,

some webhosts are a pain for shared services. However unless you're running the resume parsing services, it should be simple.

The first steps are to create the database and user before trying the installation. You should be able to do this through a control panel for your hosted service? How far did you get?

The installation guide is on the wiki - and just work through it / shout where it breaks

wiki link; http://www.opencats.org/wiki/index.php? ... stallation

The key part is below;

create a database called cats and a user called cats.

1) Unpack tarball (cats-0.9.1.tar.gz) under your apache document root (/var/www/html, /usr/local/apache2/htdocs, /cygdrive/c/wamp/www, or similar) and create a symlink to it named 'cats':

1. cd /var/www/html
2. tar zxvf cats-0.9.1.tar.gz
3. ln -s cats-0.9.1 cats

2) Launch MySQL client and create a new database and user.

1. mysql -uroot -p

mysql> CREATE DATABASE cats; mysql> GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON `cats`.* TO 'cats'@'localhost' IDENTIFIED BY 'password'; mysql> EXIT;